HEAD COACH: Peter Wright




Lasswade Rugby Football Club are based in Bonnyrigg in Scotland. Established in 1921, the club plays at Hawthornden and competes in Scottish National League 2.

In 2003 the club sold one of its three pitches to the Local Authority to fund the improvement of the existing facilities. The money has been ploughed into development with two international size floodlit pitches complemented by a 350-seater grandstand. The new facilities have been used by South Africa, France, New Zealand, Edinburgh Rugby, the Scotland 7s squad and the Scottish Women’s Rugby Squad as a training ground. It has also been host to several champagne ties including Scotland under-19s v Italy under19s and a number of Scotland Women’s Six Nations matches.

After several consecutive seasons earning promotion, Lasswade 1st XV competed the 2010–11 season in Division One and were promoted to the Premiership Division 3 for the 2011–12 season.

Notable former players include the ex-Scotland and British & Irish Lions prop forward Peter Wright who is their Head Coach for this season.

Lasswade won the final of the National Shield which was held at Murrayfield in 2010, beating Greenock Wanderers 17–7. In the same season they also won promotion to National League One (fourth tier) after finishing runners-up in League Two.

In season 2010–11 Lasswade won promotion to Premiership Division Three, the highest league position in their history, by winning National League 1. The club also retained the Shield beating Hawick YM in the final 22–17.

Following more league reconstruction by the SRU, in season 2012–13 Lasswade played in Championship League B. Following further league reconstruction, Lasswade found themselves competing in the National League 3 in season 2014–15.

In March 2015, Lasswade won the National League Division Three title but were relegated following just one season in the third tier. However, after finishing runners-up they immediately bounced back up to National League Division Two in 2017.


2 Sep 2023 Kirkcaldy (A) W 43-12

9 Sep 2023 N Stewart (H) W 34-18

16 Sep 2023 Aberdeen (A) W 34-22

23 Sep 2023 Berwick (H) W 30-25

30 Sep 2023 Peebles (A) W 27-26

7 Oct 2023 Gordonians (H) L 7-22

21 Oct 2023 Stew-Mel (A) W 31-10

28 Oct 2023 Stirling (H) W 43-24

4 Nov 2023 Falkirk (A) L 33-55

11 Nov 2023 Kirkcaldy (H) W 33-27

18 Nov 2023 N Stewart (A) D 6-6

16 Dec 2023 Peebles (H) L 18-21

13 Jan 2024 Gordonians (A) W 32-31

27 Jan 2024 Stirling (A) W 34-27

9 Feb 2024 Stew-Mel (H) W 24-15

2 Mar 2024 Aberdeen (H) W 40-10

23 Mar 2024 Berwick (A) W 26-22

30 Mar 2024 Falkirk (H) W 48-21