Malleny Park

HEAD COACH: Mark Cairns

ASSISTANT COACH: Ally Donaldson & Alastair Hamilton

CAPTAIN: Jamie Forbes

VICE CAPTAIN: Graeme Carson

Currie Rugby Football Club was founded in 1970.

They played their first match against Gala Wanderers and just one year later the club was fielding two teams and by the following year a third had begun to appear.

In 1973-74 the SRU restructured Scottish rugby. This gave Currie RFC entry to Edinburgh District League, Division 2.

Progress and promotion followed and eventually were promoted from Edinburgh District League Division 1 to the National League Division 7.

The Club progressed up the National Leagues, with the skill and dedication of coaches Roy Mack, Lyn Tatham and many others. By 1983-84, Currie RFC were up to National League 4.

Former Scottish International winger Graham ‘Greco’ Hogg became Head Coach at Currie. Greco was an outstanding coach and mentor. Under him there was quick promotion up to NL2.

In the 1989-90 season, the Club won promotion into the Division 1, some 20 years after it had been founded.

By that time, the Club had established itself as a known destination for overseas players and, in additional to players from its region it was attracting players from many countries.

In the mid-1970’s the club signed a long lease on a piece of land at Malleny Park.

Under the guidance of Bruce McNaughton, and with Ally Donaldson, by then 1st XV Captain, Currie won promotion to Division 1. They also completed a ‘double’ beating Stirling County in the final of the Tennent’s Shield.

In 2005-06 the 1st XV reached the finals of The BT Cup, losing to Watsonians. Then in 2005-06 the club became Premiership Champions – and the club did it again, securing a second Championship win in 2009-10. Currie are now one of the regulars in the Premiership, the elite division of Scottish Club Rugby.

Article courtesy of the Currie website


2 Sep 2023 Selkirk (A) W 47-17

9 Sep 2023 Jedforest (H) W 54-7

16 Sep 2023 Musselburgh (A) W 46-7

23 Sep 2023 Heriot's Blues (H) W 46-5

30 Sep 2023 Hawick (A) L 13-35

14 Oct 2023 Marr (A) L 28-34

21 Oct 2023 Kelso (H) W 48-13

28 Oct 2023 Edin Accies (A) L 19-31

4 Nov 2023 Selkirk (H) W 40-36

11 Nov 2023 Jedforest (A) W 31-7

18 Nov 2023 Musselburgh (H) W 52-10

25 Nov 2023 Heriot's Blues (A) W 29-21

9 Dec 2023 Glas Hawks (A) W 16-12

16 Dec 2023 Glas Hawks (H) W 50-20

13 Jan 2023 Hawick (H) D 24-24

27 Jan 2024 Kelso (A) L 20-25

3 Feb 2024 Edin Accies (H) W 36-10

16 Feb 2024 Marr (H) L 17-27

2 Mar 2024 Marr (A) (PO)