Poynder Park, Kelso

HEAD COACH: Kevin Utterson


CAPTAIN: Frankie Robson

VICE CAPTAIN: Archie Cowens & Dwain Patterson

Kelso Rugby Football Club was formed in 1876 and they play their home matches at Poynder Park.

The club from the Scottish Borders have produced 19 Scottish internationalists over the years including two Scottish captains (Gary Callander and Ross Ford) and five British & Irish Lions. John Jeffrey, Alan Tait, Ross Ford, Roger Baird and George Fairbairn were the Kelso players who pulled on the famous red jersey.

Kelso were masters of the game of 7s and in the late 1970s and early 1980s they won practically everything they entered including the Melrose 7s seven times between 1978 and 1989 with players like Alan Tait, John Jeffrey, Andrew Ker, Eric Paxton, Roger Baird and Gary Callander all involved in the success at both 7s and 15s at that time.

In the 1987-88 season, Kelso were Scottish Champions and in the late 1990s Kelso appeared in two Scottish Cup Finals.

Ross Ford appeared in the 2000s and went on to become Scotland’s most capped male player as a hooker, winning 109 in all.

Kelso won the National 1 title in 2022-23 which gave them promotion to the Premiership, and they want to mark this season by competing at the top end of the table.


2 Sep 2023 Musselburgh (A) D 31-31

9 Sep 2023 Heriot's Blues (H) D 24-24

16 Sep 2023 Hawick (A) L 7-61

23 Sep 2023 Glas Hawks (H) W 29-14

30 Sep 2023 Marr (A) L 14-48

7 Oct 2023 Selkirk (H) L 19-21

14 Oct 2023 Edin Accies (H) W 32-22

21 Oct 2023 Currie (A) L 13-48

28 Oct 2023 Jedforest (H) W 30-21

4 Nov 2023 Musselburgh (H) W 45-12

11 Nov 2023 Heriot's Blues (A) W 32-31

18 Nov 2023 Hawick (H) L 20-28

9 Dec 2023 Selkirk (A) W 27-0

16 Dec 2023 Marr (H) W 48-24

20 Jan 2024 Edin Accies (A) D 17-17

27 Jan 2024 Currie (H) W 25-20

3 Feb 2024 Jedforest (A) W 48-12

17 Feb 2024 Glas Hawks (A) L 15-17

2 Mar 2024 Hawick (A) (PO SF) L 9-25