HEAD COACH: Derek O'Riordan

ASSISTANT COACH: Andrew Clark & Callum Gauld

CAPTAIN: Rory Watt

VICE CAPTAIN: Michael Badenhorst & Sandy Watt

Musselburgh Rugby Football Club play their home games at Stoneyhill and are one of the top 10 teams in Scottish club rugby.

The club was formed in 1921 as a section of the Musselburgh Sports Club. They initially played their games at Shirehaugh which is now a practice green at The Musselburgh Golf Club in Monktonhall. During the 1930s The Musselburgh Sports Club changed its name to become Musselburgh Rugby Football Club.

During 1951, the club moved from its home at Shirehaugh to a new pitch at Stoneyhill where the club currently resides. A clubhouse was built on the site and opened in 1971, with changing rooms added in 1984 and a gym in 2021.

After the creation of the new leagues in Scotland the club were placed in the third division, ultimately falling to Division 5 in 1975. However they bounced back and continued to climb up the leagues where they were promoted to the Premiership for the first time in 1987, lasting one season before being relegated.

The club continued to stay around the second and third tiers before a sharp fall to the regional leagues in the late 2000s. The team slowly climbed their way back up to the National leagues before winning National 2 in 2015. With the formation of the Super6 in 2018, the top six teams from National 1 had the chance to be promoted to the Premiership to join the remaining four teams. Musselburgh claimed a bonus point on the final day of the season to win the final spot and last season produced an escape worthy of Houdini to survive in the Premiership at the expense of GHA.


2 Sep 2023 Kelso (H) D 31-31

9 Sep 2023 Edin Accies (A) L 25-41

16 Sep 2023 Currie (H) L 7-46

23 Sep 2023 Jedforest (A) W 40-31

30 Sep 2023 Selkirk (A) W 24-21

7 Oct 2023 Heriot's Blues (H) W 39-34

14 Oct 2023 Hawick (A) L 25-27

21 Oct 2023 Glas Hawks (H) D 42-42

28 Oct 2023 Marr (A) W 36-28

4 Nov 2023 Kelso (A) L 12-45

11 Nov 2023 Edin Accies (H) W 37-35

18 Nov 2023 Currie (A) L 10-52

25 Nov 2023 Jedforest (H) W 51-27

9 Dec 2023 Heriot's Blues (A) L 22-24

16 Dec 2023 Selkirk (H) L 19-29

20 Jan 2024 Hawick (H) L 0-28

27 Jan 2024 Glas Hawks (A) W 29-27

3 Feb 2024 Marr (H) L 33-39